Daily Archives: July 8, 2015

Simple Egg Cupcakeย 

Woke up at 5.30am and decided to bake for the lil’ girl. I’m pretty sure she’ll be happy to show her teachers and friends that she has a pretty cupcake fore breakkie today. 

  
Ingredients:

A – 

5 eggs

200g sugar

1/4 tsp salt

B – 

180g plain flour (sieved)

1 tsp baking powder

40g oil

Steps:

1. Insert butterfly, place all ingredients A in the Themomix Bowl 3 min/speed 3 

2. Remove the butterfly, add in ingredients B, mix well 20sec/speed3 

3. Pour into cupcake moulds, bake in preheated oven at 180degress for 25-30 min 

She was indeed very happy when i passed her the lil’ cupcake! ๐Ÿ™‚ and proudly show it to the teachers when she stepped into the school. I’m 1 happy mummy with a happy toddler! 

Quinoa + Kale Warm Saladย 

I had my first taste of Quinoa when i visited Sydney! I’ve seen quinoa being served in many places in Singapore and i know that they are healthy food but i never had the courage to try them due to its looks. Slightly translucent with a lil’ “tail” sticking out… ๐Ÿ˜› Just didn’t look too apetizing for me. But when we were at this Brunch place in Sydney, our cousin highly recommended us to try… Turned out that it tasted awesome! so good that hub told me to learn how to cook and we bought a packet a quinoa home! ๐Ÿ™‚ 

But, i never had a chance to cook it as it is not easy to find fresh Kale in Singapore. Until 1 day when my friend told me that i can get it from Zen Xin, an Organic store in Pasir Panjang. However, they only bring Kale in on Sundays and  Wednesdays. So, if you want to get hold of them, go on Monday and Thursdays ( do give them a call before going to ensure they have stock) 

So here’s my beautiful Kale 

   

How to cook the quinoa?

1.Soak a cup in clean water for 15 min

2. Ratio of Grains :water = 1:1.2 , i advise you to use stock to cook the quinoa as it will give some flavor to the quinoa. Then cook it just like how your cook your rice, i usually steam my rice or cook it with my Thermomix. This time round, i steam-ed the quinoa for 20 min, then leave it to cool in the steamer for at least 10 min. 

This is how Quinoa looks like while soaking

 
How to prepare the Kale + Quinoa Warm Salad?
I did it my Asian way! ๐Ÿ™‚ just like how i usually cook Fried Rice with a twist

First fry an omelette, dish out. In the hot pan, sautee the onions till fragrant then put in Luncheon Meat ( i had some left overs, else you can use bacon/fresh meat), once the meat is slightly browned, add in the Kale and Quinoa. For seasoning, i added Homemade 100% pure Shitake mushroom powder, salt and pepper. 

Tadaa! my version of Quinoa + Kale Warm Salad or should i call it “Kale Fried Rice Quinoa”?! 

   
I still find Quinoa looking scary but it is yummy! my almost 2 years old saw it from far and she thought they were mushrooms as they’re kinda brownish  in colour. She gave it a try and ate quite abit too! ๐Ÿ™‚ 

 

Homemade 100% Pure Organic Shitake Mushroom Powder

After sharing the Homemade 100% Pure Ikan Bilis Powder, here’s how i make my 100% Pure Organic Shitake Mushroom Powder. Where to get Organic SHitake Mushroom? I bought mine from Zen Xin, Pasir Panjang. I believe you can get it from most organic shops too. Why do we choose Organic Mushrooms? Reason is simple, mushrooms are like sponges, they absorb everything very easily, so can you imagine them absorbing the pesticides? then we feed them to our precious family members? Also, the organic mushrooms do not have additives, no preservations and it is delicious to be eaten just like this. The shop keeper told me, all organic produce are safe to be eaten without washing. But, to be safe, i still wash and clean them! 

These are the 2 types of Organic SHitake Mushroom that i use for the powder

    
Want to know how i prepare the powder? 

Here’s what you need.

150g Organic Shitake Mushroom

yes, nothing but mushrooms!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Steps:

1.First, take a piece of clean cloth, wet it then use it to wipe & clean the mushrooms. Do not wash and soak them as the nutrients will be gone and it will not smell as good. I also use a brush to brush its surface. 

2. Cut it into smaller pieces , just like this 

3. Then put them in an oven 160degrees/15-20 min. they should come out smelling heavenly and slightly crispy. 
  
  

4. Then place everything in the Thermomix Bowl, blend it till you achieve your desired powder texture. turbo 2sec/3 times 

  
I’ve been using this powder alot in my cooking to increase the fragrance. It is soooo good! I think my powder will be gone by next week! next round, i’ll be making a bigger batch to be distributed to my friends and family! Do you want some too? Message me or drop me an email!

I personally prefer mushroom powder over the Ikan bilis powder. Ikan Bilis is preserved and it is inevitable to add in Salt while they sun and preserve them. Hence, ikan bilis powder is slightly salted ( despite washing and soaking before making them into powder, the ikan bilis powder is still slightly salted). However, Ikan bilis is a good source of calcium. This mushroom powder is 100% pure with a rich , earthy, robust flavor. Use this powder in soups, sauces, stuffings and stews. You may also rub it on the meat while you marinate them. Guess i will just have to alternate them in my cooking to give my girl healthy and delicious homecooked food. 

Dragon Fruit Jamย 

I was never a fan of Dragon fruit as its texture is just soft… and back then, we hardly get the red ones, the white dragon fruit is rather tasteless. Until 1 day i bought a Red Dragon fruit , my view towards dragon fruit changed drastically! and i actually fell in love with them. If you chance upon Yellow Dragon Fruit from Vietnam, try that!! super sweet! 

They are sweet and light. You won’t feel burdened after eating lots of them. BEst part is that is it is a natural remedy for consipation. I grew up thinking that Banana eases constipation, but i’m wrong! Apple also eases constipation, not banana. The sees appear to have strong laxative properties. It is also high in Vitamin-C. 3 times more than carrots!

So, i’m trying to get my girl to eat more Dragon Fruit on daily basis. ๐Ÿ™‚ to ease her constipation

HEre’s how i made Dragon Fruit Jam, I cut the sugar by quite abit because she usually eats it with plain yogurt. Too much sugar is definitely not good for us. So, it is more like a Fruits puree for her…

  
Ingredients:

500 g Dragon Fruit

150g Brown Sugar ( can put up to 250g)

1/2 lemon (juice only)

Steps:

1. Place dragon fruit and sugar in the Themomix bowl, blend it 15sec/speed6

2. Cook the mixture Without MC/25-30min/100degrees/Speed 2 

3.Last 5 minutes, add in the lemon juice 

 
I managed to get 3 little bottles. Now, i’m going to make some yogurt to go with them… maybe some bread too? ๐Ÿ™‚